IAED/C logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

IAED/C Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • No fixed 2026 testing calendar is established in the public sources reviewed; confirm every date directly with IAED.
  • Certification runs in two stages: a written exam first, then a live-horse practical, each requiring at least 80%.
  • Under the legacy 2015 standard, the practical fee was $750 if paid at least 21 days ahead, otherwise $950.
  • Eligibility needs membership in good standing, 240 training hours (80 for veterinarians) and a member recommendation.

What "Exam Dates" Means for IAED Certification

Searching for IAED/C exam dates usually turns up a frustrating pattern: lots of generic exam advice, very few actual calendar entries. That is not an accident. The credential discussed here is the Certified Equine Dental Technician pathway offered through the International Association of Equine Dentistry (IAED), which the issuer presents as "IAED Certification." It is not a computer-based exam that runs on rolling daily appointment slots through a commercial testing vendor. No such vendor has been identified for this program.

That distinction changes how you plan. With a vendor-delivered exam, you pick a day from a public scheduler. With a membership-association program that combines a written assessment and a hands-on assessment on live horses, the "date" is something you arrange, confirm and often coordinate with examiners. This article lays out what is actually known, what is not, and how to build a realistic timeline around the pieces that are firm.

If you are still orienting yourself on the credential itself, start with What Is IAED/C Certification? and IAED/C Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, then return here for the scheduling mechanics.

Why There Is No Published 2026 Testing Calendar

The public IAED certification page, reviewed for this article on September 29, 2026, describes what candidates are tested on and what scores they need. It does not publish a list of 2026 testing windows, registration cutoffs or sitting dates. We are not claiming a newly revised 2026 blueprint or a new scheduling system exists; none is documented in the public material.

Treat Every Date as "To Be Confirmed": Any website listing exact 2026 IAED written-exam dates or fixed registration deadlines should be viewed skeptically unless it cites IAED directly. The reviewed issuer page establishes requirements and score thresholds, not a public sitting calendar. Contact IAED and get your dates in writing.

What the public page does establish gives you plenty to plan around: the order of the stages, the 80% thresholds, the prerequisites and the maintenance cycle. Those are the "dates" that are really deadlines in disguise.

The Two-Stage Sequence: Written First, Practical Second

The single most important scheduling fact is the order of operations. The current issuer page requires at least 80% on the written examination before the live-horse practical assessment. Two independent practical examiners then combine their scores, and the practical also requires at least 80%.

StageWhat Is EstablishedWhat Remains Unverified
Written examinationProctored written testing is described; 80% minimum; precedes the practical; legacy standard listed the written as freeQuestion count, duration, scored/unscored split, item types, remote-online or open-book rules, current fee
Live-horse practicalTwo independent examiners combine scores; 80% minimum; legacy standard $750 if paid 21+ days ahead, $950 otherwiseLive item format, time limits, current fee, specific session dates

Because the written stage gates the practical, your calendar is effectively serial. You cannot book your hands-on assessment as a motivational deadline and cram the written afterward. A failed written attempt pushes the practical back. For deeper context on the thresholds, see IAED/C Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

What the Written Stage Likely Looks Like

Proctored written testing is described by the issuer, but the public material does not state whether remote-online delivery, open-book use, calculators or adaptive item selection are permitted. Do not assume any of these. Ask IAED how and where the written exam is administered, because location and proctoring arrangements drive your travel and scheduling decisions more than any calendar window would.

What the Practical Stage Involves

The practical is a live-horse assessment, scored by two independent examiners whose scores are combined. Written practice questions cannot certify hands-on competence, and nothing in exam preparation authorizes treatment beyond applicable veterinary laws. Practically, that means the practical session depends on examiner availability and a suitable horse, which is why advance coordination matters so much.

Eligibility Gates That Control Your Timeline

Most candidates who miss a target date miss it because of a prerequisite, not because of study time. The current public page lists these candidate requirements:

  • Current IAED membership in good standing and no pending grievance.
  • A formal equine dental education program of 240 hours, or 80 equine-dental hours for veterinary graduates.
  • A recommendation from an IAED-certified member, described on the current page as a signature.
Training Hours Are Not Exam Timers: The 240-hour and 80-hour figures describe formal education you must have completed to qualify. They say nothing about how long any exam sitting lasts. Don't confuse them with test duration, which is unverified.

Of the three gates, the member recommendation is the one most likely to introduce delay, since it depends on another person. If you do not already work alongside an IAED-certified member, building that relationship should start well before you intend to sit anything. Membership processing and any grievance status are also outside your direct control. For more on training pathways, see IAED/C Training.

The 21-Day Fee Deadline in the Legacy Standard

The one concrete deadline that surfaces in the available data is a fee-timing rule from the legacy 2015 standard: the practical/certification fee was $750 when paid at least 21 days ahead, and $950 otherwise. The written examination was listed as free under that same legacy standard, and membership was required, with a nonmember rate not established.

Item (Legacy 2015 Standard)Amount / Rule
Written examinationFree
Practical/certification, paid 21+ days ahead$750
Practical/certification, paid late$950
Nonmember rateNot established
Current (2026) feesUnverified; confirm with IAED

Key Takeaway

Even if current fees differ, the legacy pattern shows IAED rewarded early commitment. Ask IAED whether a lead-time discount still applies, and treat 21 days as a minimum buffer for any practical you plan to schedule. For full pricing context, see IAED/C Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Building Your Own Schedule Backward from the Practical

Since no public calendar dictates your timing, the most reliable approach is to build one yourself, working backward from the live-horse practical. Here is a sequence that respects the dependencies in the known rules:

  1. Confirm eligibility first. Verify membership standing, tally your formal training hours against the 240-hour (or 80-hour veterinary) requirement, and identify who will give your recommendation.
  2. Request written-exam logistics from IAED. Ask for the proctoring arrangement, location, format and any scheduling windows. Get answers in writing.
  3. Sit the written exam with margin. Because a failed attempt delays the practical, leave slack between the written and your target practical date.
  4. Lock in the practical at least 21 days ahead. This protects you from the late-fee tier if the legacy structure still applies.
  5. Prepare the hands-on portion separately. Supervised practice is required for competence; written practice cannot substitute for it.

You can also pressure-test your readiness before committing dates. Our IAED/C practice tests let you gauge written-stage knowledge so you only book a sitting when your scores justify it. Also read How Hard Is the IAED/C Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 to calibrate how much runway you need.

Sequencing the Six Proficiency Areas

The issuer states candidates are tested on six named proficiencies. No weights are published, so the allocation below is an editorial preparation order, not an official blueprint. The practical value is knowing which topics to front-load before your written date. For the full breakdown, see IAED/C Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.

Weeks 1-2

Gross Head Anatomy

  • Identification, location and function of bones, muscles, arteries, veins, nerves and salivary glands
  • Start here because every later topic references head structures
Weeks 3-4

Tooth Structure and Principals of Mastication

  • Equine hypsodont tooth anatomy and how it wears
  • Mastication mechanics, including excursion and strike concepts from the Standard of Practice
  • Note that the issuer spelling is "Principals of Mastication"
Weeks 5-6

Terminology, Aging and Dental Prophylaxis

  • Precise terminology, including identifying dental malocclusions
  • Aging indicators and dental prophylaxis procedures
  • Finish with timed mixed review before booking the written

This ordering reflects dependency: anatomy underpins tooth structure, tooth structure underpins mastication, and terminology and aging draw on all three. Adjust the number of weeks to your own experience; a candidate coming from a veterinary background may compress the early anatomy block. Our IAED/C Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt expands each of these.

Clinical Context from the Standard of Practice

The IAED Standard of Practice, updated November 2022, is useful preparation context even though it is not a written-exam blueprint. It covers equine hypsodont anatomy, physiology, biomechanics and pathology; instrumentation and oral examination; charting of anatomical variation, malocclusions and abnormal pathology; anatomical guideline, pulp and secondary-dentin protection; occlusion, lateral excursion to strike and full/in-occlusion excursion; the temporomandibular joint and primary and secondary strikes; and work on incisors, canines, wolf teeth and cheek teeth. It also addresses pre-assessment, horse welfare and referral, safe positioning and equipment, minimizing thermal and soft-tissue injury, and conserving viable dentition, functional occlusion and natural occlusal surfaces.

How to Use the Standard in Your Timeline

Read it alongside the six proficiencies rather than after them. Its clinical language shows how the written concepts show up in live-horse work, which is exactly what two practical examiners will be scoring.

  • Use the charting and occlusion sections to reinforce Terminology and Principals of Mastication.
  • Use the welfare, referral and injury-minimization sections to prepare for practical conduct.

After You Pass: Maintenance Dates That Matter

Certification is not a one-time event. The current page requires current membership plus 24 approved CE hours every two years, with an in-person IAED convention or event every four years. A fixed expiry date is not established in the public sources, so your effective deadlines are your membership renewal and your two-year CE cycle.

Plan the four-year in-person event early, since convention schedules are set by the association and may require travel. Like the training hours, these CE hours are not examination timers. If you are weighing whether the ongoing commitment pays off, see Is the IAED/C Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and IAED/C Jobs.

What to Verify With IAED Before You Commit

Because so many scheduling details are not publicly stated, a short verification list protects you from planning around assumptions. Ask IAED for written answers on:

  • Current written and practical fees, and whether the 21-day early-payment tier still applies
  • Written exam location, proctoring arrangement and whether remote delivery is allowed
  • Written exam length, question count and any open-book or calculator rules
  • Available practical session dates, locations and examiner scheduling
  • Retake policy and any waiting period after a failed written or practical stage
  • Current nonmember pricing, if any, and membership processing time

The pass rate is not publicly disclosed either, so use IAED/C Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for what can and cannot be said. For earnings context once certified, see IAED/C Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.

Frequently Asked Questions

When are the 2026 IAED/C exam dates?

No fixed 2026 testing calendar appears in the public sources reviewed. Written and practical sittings must be confirmed directly with the International Association of Equine Dentistry. Be cautious of third-party sites listing exact dates without citing IAED.

Do I take the written or practical exam first?

The written examination comes first. The current issuer page requires at least 80% on the written before the live-horse practical, which also requires at least 80% from two independent examiners whose scores are combined.

Is there a registration deadline I should know about?

Under the legacy 2015 standard, the practical/certification fee was $750 if paid at least 21 days ahead and $950 otherwise. Current fees and deadlines are unverified, so confirm them with IAED before planning around the 21-day rule.

What must I complete before I can schedule anything?

You need current IAED membership in good standing with no pending grievance, a formal 240-hour equine dental education program (80 hours for veterinary graduates), and a recommendation from an IAED-certified member.

How often must I renew after certifying?

Maintenance requires current membership and 24 approved CE hours every two years, plus an in-person IAED convention or event every four years. A fixed expiry date is not established in the public sources.

Ready to pass your IAED/C exam?

Put this into practice with free IAED/C questions across every exam domain.