IAED/C logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

IAED/C Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • You need at least 80% on the written examination before you can sit the live-horse practical.
  • The practical also requires at least 80%, combining scores from two independent examiners.
  • The issuer does not publish a weighted blueprint, question count, or time limit for the written paper.
  • Eligibility requires membership, 240 formal training hours (80 for veterinarians), and a certified-member recommendation.

The 80% Rule: Two Gates, Same Threshold

If you are searching for the passing score on the Certified Equine Dental Technician credential, the answer is refreshingly simple on paper: 80%. The International Association of Equine Dentistry (IAED) requires at least 80% on the written examination, and then at least 80% again on the live-horse practical assessment. There is no compensatory scoring between the stages. A strong practical cannot rescue a failed written paper, and a perfect written score does not carry you through a weak practical.

That sounds straightforward, but the sections below explain why the simple number hides several details you should plan around. The issuer's current public certification page calls the program "IAED Certification," and it does not establish a separately named IAED/C award or an official rename. Throughout this article, "IAED/C" refers to this equine dental technician credential and nothing else. For a broader orientation, see What Is IAED/C? and the overview of IAED/C certification.

Two-Stage Structure: The written examination is a prerequisite gate. You must reach at least 80% there before the live-horse practical assessment. Passing means clearing both stages at 80% or higher, not averaging them.

What the Issuer Does Not Publish

Many candidates want a precise answer to questions like "How many items are on the written test?" or "How many can I miss?" The honest answer is that the public record does not say. Based on the issuer's public pages reviewed on September 29, 2026, the following remain unverified:

  • The number of written questions
  • The scored versus unscored item split
  • Item types and time limits
  • Official weights for any content area
  • The live practical's item format
  • A current pass rate
  • Whether the written paper can be taken remotely, open-book, with a calculator, or adaptively

Because the question count is unknown, you cannot responsibly convert 80% into a "number of questions you may miss." Any site that gives you such a figure is guessing. What you can say with confidence is that your target should be comfortably above the line, not merely at it. For context on how the pass rate question is handled, read IAED/C Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows, which explains why no pass rate is publicly disclosed.

No Invented Numbers: This article does not claim a scaled score, a raw-score conversion, or a weighted blueprint, because none is published. If you see a specific question count or domain percentage attributed to this credential, treat it as unverified.

Stage One: The Written Examination

The written stage is proctored. Beyond that, the format details are not established publicly. What the issuer does state is that certification candidates are tested on a defined list of proficiencies. These are organized here as six unweighted preparation categories. They are not a newly discovered weighted written blueprint, and you should not assume equal weighting either.

Proficiency AreaWhat the Issuer Lists
Gross Head AnatomyIdentification, location and function of bones, muscles, arteries, veins, nerves and salivary glands
Tooth StructureRetained as a named proficiency; no sub-topic weights published
Principals of MasticationRetained as a named proficiency (issuer spelling preserved)
TerminologyRetained as a named proficiency
AgingRetained as a named proficiency
Dental ProphylaxisRetained as a named proficiency

The issuer also states that candidates must be able to identify dental malocclusions. That requirement cuts across several of the headings above, and you should expect it to matter in both stages. A detailed walk-through of each area is in IAED/C Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.

Why the 80% Line Feels Different Here

Most professional exams set cut scores well below 80%. An 80% requirement on a knowledge-based written paper means the examiners expect near-mastery of the listed material. Gross Head Anatomy alone spans bones, muscles, arteries, veins, nerves and salivary glands, which is a wide memorization load. If you treat one proficiency as a "skip" area, the margin for error shrinks quickly. For a candid read on how demanding this is, see How Hard Is the IAED/C Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Stage Two: The Live-Horse Practical

After clearing the written stage, candidates move to the live-horse practical assessment. Two independent practical examiners evaluate performance, and their scores are combined. The combined result must also reach at least 80%.

What the Two-Examiner Model Means for You

Because two independent examiners contribute to a combined score, a single examiner's harsh or lenient impression does not decide the outcome alone. It also means your technique has to look sound from more than one vantage point.

  • Consistency matters: a single lapse in safety or technique can be noticed by either examiner.
  • Horse welfare and safe positioning are part of the clinical standard, not optional polish.
  • The live format, item structure, and any scored/unscored split are not publicly specified.

Written practice questions cannot certify hands-on competence. The practical requires separate supervised assessment, and nothing you do on a practice quiz replaces repetition on live horses under qualified supervision. Likewise, passing any assessment does not authorize treatment beyond what applicable veterinary laws allow. Always confirm what is legally permitted where you work.

Eligibility Comes Before Any Score

You cannot earn a passing score if you are not yet eligible to sit the stages. The current public requirements include:

  1. Current IAED membership in good standing, with no pending grievance
  2. Completion of a formal 240-hour equine dental education program, or 80 equine-dental hours for veterinary graduates
  3. A recommendation, per the current page, from an IAED-certified member (signature)

The training hours here are education prerequisites. They are not examination timers and should not be confused with how long the written paper lasts. For the full eligibility picture, see IAED/C Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and for training pathways, IAED/C Training.

Planning Around Six Unweighted Proficiencies

Because no official weights exist, your preparation should assume that every named proficiency can appear and that you must reach 80% overall. Here is a practical way to sequence the six areas across a preparation window, tied directly to the material rather than to generic routines.

Weeks 1-2

Gross Head Anatomy First

  • Start here because it has the largest list of structures: bones, muscles, arteries, veins, nerves, salivary glands
  • Drill identification, location and function for each category separately
Week 3

Tooth Structure and Principals of Mastication

  • Connect tooth anatomy to how the horse chews; these two areas reinforce each other
  • Review hypsodont anatomy and biomechanics from the Standard of Practice
Week 4

Terminology and Aging

  • Terminology is a vocabulary skill that supports every other area; quiz it daily
  • Practice applying aging criteria, not just defining them
Week 5

Dental Prophylaxis and Malocclusions

  • Review prophylaxis concepts alongside identification of dental malocclusions
  • Take mixed, timed practice sets across all six areas

This sequencing is editorial, not an official schedule. Practice-question allocation across the six areas is also editorial, since the issuer provides no weights. For a fuller week-by-week plan, use IAED/C Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and for a condensed refresher, IAED/C Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. You can also test yourself with realistic questions on the main practice test site.

Fees, Timing, and the Cost of a Missed Score

Fee mechanics matter because failing a stage may mean paying again. Under the legacy 2015 standard, the written stage was free, while the practical/certification fee was $750 when paid at least 21 days ahead and $950 otherwise. IAED membership is required, and a nonmember rate has not been established. Current fees remain unverified, so confirm them with the issuer before you budget.

ItemLegacy 2015 StandardStatus Today
Written examinationFreeCurrent fee unverified
Practical/certification (21+ days ahead)$750Current fee unverified
Practical/certification (late)$950Current fee unverified
Nonmember rateNot establishedMembership is required
Why Timing Affects Your Score Strategy: The legacy structure rewarded booking the practical at least 21 days in advance. That is a good reason not to schedule the practical until you are confident of clearing 80% on the written paper first, since the written stage gates access to the live assessment. See IAED/C Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown and IAED/C Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling for planning details.

Using the Standard of Practice to Aim Above 80%

The issuer's public Standard of Practice, updated November 2022, is the best publicly available window into what clinical competence looks like. It is preparation context, not a scoring rubric, and it does not tell you how points are assigned. Still, the topics it covers map closely onto what an 80% performance should reflect:

Standard of Practice Topics (Updated November 2022)

Use these as a checklist for clinical understanding, especially for the practical stage.

  • Equine hypsodont anatomy, physiology, biomechanics and pathology
  • Instrumentation and oral examination
  • Charting anatomical variation, malocclusions and abnormal pathology
  • Anatomical guideline, pulp and secondary-dentin protection
  • Occlusion, lateral excursion to strike, and full/in-occlusion excursion
  • Temporomandibular joint and primary/secondary strikes
  • Incisors, canines, wolf teeth and cheek teeth
  • Pre-assessment, horse welfare and referral
  • Safe positioning and equipment
  • Minimizing thermal and soft-tissue injury
  • Conserving viable dentition, functional occlusion and natural occlusal surfaces

Notice how many of these items concern restraint and protection: protecting pulp and secondary dentin, minimizing thermal and soft-tissue injury, and conserving natural occlusal surfaces. A candidate who can recite anatomy but ignores conservative technique is unlikely to reach 80% on a hands-on assessment. Referral and pre-assessment also appear, signaling that knowing when not to proceed is part of competence.

After You Pass: Maintaining the Credential

Reaching the passing score is not the end of the process. Maintenance requires current IAED membership and 24 approved CE hours every two years, along with attendance at an in-person IAED convention or event every four years. A fixed expiry date has not been established. These CE hours are ongoing professional development, not examination timers. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, see Is the IAED/C Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026, along with IAED/C Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and IAED/C Jobs. Those articles handle earnings and employment questions separately, since this article does not assert any salary figures.

Key Takeaway

Plan for 80% on the written paper, then 80% on the live practical. Since weights and question counts are unpublished, prepare all six proficiencies evenly, and treat the November 2022 Standard of Practice as your clinical checklist for the second stage.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the IAED/C certification?

The current issuer page requires at least 80% on the written examination and at least 80% on the live-horse practical assessment. Both stages must be cleared; the written stage comes first.

How many questions are on the written exam?

The written question count is not publicly verified. Item types, time limits, and the scored/unscored split are also unspecified, so no responsible "questions you can miss" figure can be given.

How is the practical assessment scored?

Two independent practical examiners evaluate performance on a live horse, and their scores are combined. The combined result must reach at least 80%. The live item format is not publicly specified.

Is the pass rate published?

No. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Treat any specific percentage you see elsewhere as unverified, and see the dedicated pass rate article for how this is handled.

Do I need training hours before I can attempt the exams?

Yes. Candidates need current IAED membership in good standing, no pending grievance, a formal 240-hour equine dental education program (or 80 equine-dental hours for veterinary graduates), and a recommendation signature from an IAED-certified member per the current page.

Ready to pass your IAED/C exam?

Put this into practice with free IAED/C questions across every exam domain.