IAED/C logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

IAED/C Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • The IAED does not publicly disclose a certification pass rate, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
  • Candidates must score at least 80% on the written exam before attempting the live-horse practical.
  • The practical also requires 80%, with two independent examiners combining their scores.
  • Eligibility requires membership, 240 formal training hours (80 for veterinarians), and a recommendation from an IAED-certified member.

Why There Is No Published IAED/C Pass Rate

If you searched for the pass rate of the Certified Equine Dental Technician credential, you probably hoped for a clean percentage. The honest answer is that the International Association of Equine Dentistry (IAED) does not publish one. The issuer's current public certification page describes the requirements and the structure of the assessment, but it does not report how many candidates attempt the written and practical stages or how many pass.

That matters because pass-rate articles for niche credentials often fill the gap with invented figures. This article takes the opposite approach: it tells you what the public record actually supports, explains what the structure of the assessment implies about difficulty, and shows you how to prepare for the parts that determine your outcome. For a broader look at the difficulty question, see How Hard Is the IAED/C Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

A note on naming: The issuer's current page calls the program IAED Certification, offered through the International Association of Equine Dentistry. It does not establish a separately named "IAED/C" award or an official rename. This site uses IAED/C as shorthand for that certification pathway, meaning Certified Equine Dental Technician, and nothing else.

What the Public Record Does Establish

Rather than speculate about outcomes, it helps to separate what is documented from what is not. The table below summarizes the state of the public information as reviewed from the IAED certification page.

ItemStatus in the public record
Overall pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Written exam passing thresholdAt least 80%
Practical exam passing thresholdAt least 80%, scores combined from two independent examiners
Written question countUnverified
Time limitUnspecified
Scored versus unscored itemsUnknown
Official domain weightsNot published
Named proficiency areasSix (listed below)
Practical formatLive-horse assessment; item format unverified

The six named proficiencies are Gross Head Anatomy, Tooth Structure, Principals of Mastication, Terminology, Aging, and Dental Prophylaxis. The issuer states that certification candidates are tested on these areas, and also that candidates must be able to identify dental malocclusions. What the issuer does not publish is a weighted written blueprint, so any claim that a given domain makes up a particular share of the exam should be treated as unsupported. Our IAED/C Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas organizes these areas as unweighted preparation categories for exactly this reason.

The Two-Gate Design and What It Implies

The most important structural fact for understanding outcomes is that certification involves two sequential stages, and each has its own 80% requirement. A candidate must first pass the written examination, and only then proceed to the live-horse practical assessment. Two independent practical examiners score the practical, and their scores are combined.

This design has several practical consequences, even without a published pass rate:

  • Failure can happen at either gate. Any single headline pass rate would blend very different populations: those who stumbled on written knowledge and those who struggled with hands-on work.
  • The written stage is a screen, not the finish line. Passing it earns you access to the practical, which tests competence that no written practice question can replicate.
  • Two examiners reduce single-evaluator variance. Combined scoring means one examiner's impression does not determine your result, but it also means your technique is judged against a consistent standard by multiple professionals.
Why this matters for preparation: Studying only for the written paper leaves half the credential unaddressed. Written practice questions cannot certify hands-on competence or authorize treatment beyond applicable veterinary laws. Plan your formal training and supervised experience as seriously as your written review.

Reading the 80% Threshold Correctly

An 80% requirement sounds familiar, but it behaves differently depending on what is being measured. On the written exam, 80% is a knowledge threshold: you need to demonstrate command of anatomy, tooth structure, mastication, terminology, aging, and prophylaxis well enough to clear a high bar. There is very little room to be weak in one area and compensate in another, especially because the issuer publishes no weights that would let you strategically deprioritize a domain.

On the practical, 80% is a performance threshold judged by two examiners working on a live horse. Here the bar is tied to the clinical principles in the IAED's Standard of Practice, which the issuer dates to November 2022. Those principles emphasize conserving viable dentition, protecting natural occlusal surfaces and functional occlusion, minimizing thermal and soft-tissue injury, safe positioning and equipment, and appropriate pre-assessment, horse welfare, and referral. A candidate who knows the textbook material but handles equipment unsafely, or who removes more tooth structure than the standard supports, is unlikely to clear the practical regardless of written performance.

For the exact scoring mechanics, see IAED/C Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Struggle

Because outcomes data is not public, the following observations come from the structure of the assessment and the content of the public proficiency list, not from reported failure statistics.

Breadth of the written content

Gross Head Anatomy alone spans bones, muscles, arteries, veins, nerves, and salivary glands, including their identification, location, and function. Candidates who focus only on teeth and neglect the surrounding head anatomy leave a whole proficiency exposed.

Precision with terminology

Terminology is its own named proficiency. Equine dental vocabulary has to be exact, and imprecise definitions are a predictable source of lost points on any written paper that tests descriptions of anatomy and pathology.

Clinical judgment under live conditions

The practical introduces variables a written exam cannot: an individual horse's behavior, anatomical variation, and abnormal pathology encountered in real time. Candidates are expected to identify malocclusions and make sound decisions about what to address and what to leave alone.

Meeting the prerequisites at all

Before difficulty even enters the picture, candidates must satisfy the eligibility rules. See the section on fees and timing below and the full rundown in IAED/C Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

How to Evaluate Pass-Rate Claims You See Online

Given that no official rate exists, treat any specific figure with skepticism. A quick checklist helps:

  1. Ask for the source. A legitimate figure would trace to the IAED or to a published report. If the source is vague or absent, discount it.
  2. Check which credential it describes. The acronym "IAED/C" is shared by several unrelated credentials, and statistics for one are routinely attached to another. A pass rate from a different certification tells you nothing about equine dental technician certification.
  3. Look for which stage is measured. A number that does not say whether it covers the written exam, the practical, or both cannot be interpreted.
  4. Be wary of precision without disclosure. A neat percentage with no stated sample size or time period is a red flag.

Key Takeaway

Absence of a published pass rate is not a sign the exam is easy or hard. It means you should prepare against the documented standard, an 80% threshold at each stage, rather than against a number nobody can verify.

If you want the same topic framed alongside other decision factors, our dedicated page on the IAED/C pass rate tracks what is and is not publicly known as the issuer's information changes.

Domain-by-Domain Preparation Priorities

Since the IAED does not weight the six proficiencies, the safest approach is balanced coverage with extra time on areas where your background is thinnest. Here is what each named area asks of you, based on the issuer's public proficiency description and Standard of Practice context.

Domain 1: Gross Head Anatomy

Know the structures of the equine head and what each does.

  • Identification, location, and function of bones and muscles
  • Arteries, veins, and nerves of the head
  • Salivary glands and their relationship to the oral cavity
  • Temporomandibular joint anatomy as it relates to chewing function

Domain 2: Tooth Structure

Understand the equine tooth as a hypsodont (high-crowned, continuously erupting) tooth.

  • Hypsodont anatomy, physiology, biomechanics, and pathology
  • Pulp and secondary dentin, and why protecting them matters
  • Differences among incisors, canines, wolf teeth, and cheek teeth

Domain 3: Principals of Mastication

The issuer spells this heading "Principals of Mastication," and the spelling is preserved here. Focus on how the horse chews and what disrupts it.

  • Occlusion and lateral excursion to strike
  • Full or in-occlusion excursion
  • Primary and secondary strikes and the temporomandibular joint
  • Functional occlusion and natural occlusal surfaces

Domain 4: Terminology

Learn precise equine dental vocabulary and use it consistently.

  • Anatomical directional and positional terms
  • Names for malocclusions and abnormal pathology
  • Charting language for anatomical variation

Domain 5: Aging

Be able to estimate a horse's age from dental evidence and explain the reasoning.

  • Eruption patterns and changes in the teeth over time
  • How wear and angle changes inform an age estimate
  • Limits and uncertainty of dental aging

Domain 6: Dental Prophylaxis

Preventive care and the principles behind responsible treatment.

  • Pre-assessment, instrumentation, and oral examination
  • Safe positioning and equipment
  • Minimizing thermal and soft-tissue injury
  • Conserving viable dentition and referring cases beyond scope

These headings organize the current public proficiency list. They are not a newly discovered six-domain weighted written blueprint, and no official domain percentages exist to guide time allocation. For a concise review sheet, see the IAED/C Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts.

Fee Mechanics That Affect Your Attempt

Pass rates are shaped partly by how prepared candidates are when they sit, and fee structure influences that timing. The only fee detail available in the reviewed material comes from a legacy 2015 standard and should be confirmed with the IAED before you budget.

ComponentLegacy 2015 standard
Written examFree
Practical / certification, registered at least 21 days ahead$750
Practical / certification, later registration$950
MembershipRequired; nonmember rate not established

The practical point is the 21-day window: registering at least 21 days ahead was the lower-cost option under that legacy standard. Do not treat these figures as current pricing. Our IAED/C Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown explains what is verified and what you need to confirm directly with the association.

Eligibility requirements

  • Current membership in good standing, with no pending grievance
  • A formal equine dental education program of 240 hours, or 80 equine-dental hours for veterinary graduates
  • The current page's recommendation for a signature from an IAED-certified member

Keeping the credential

Maintenance requires current membership and 24 approved continuing education hours every two years, with an in-person IAED convention or event every four years. A fixed expiration date is not established in the reviewed material. These course and CE hours are requirements for eligibility and maintenance, not examination timers.

A Domain-Sequenced Preparation Plan

The sequence below is an editorial suggestion, not an official schedule. It orders the six proficiencies so that foundational anatomy comes first and clinical application comes last, which mirrors how the content builds on itself. Adjust the pacing to your formal training hours and your access to supervised horses.

Weeks 1-2

Gross Head Anatomy and Terminology

  • Build vocabulary alongside anatomy so terms attach to structures
  • Drill bones, muscles, vessels, nerves, and salivary glands
Weeks 3-4

Tooth Structure and Aging

  • Study hypsodont tooth anatomy, pulp, and secondary dentin
  • Practice estimating age from dental evidence
Weeks 5-6

Principals of Mastication and Dental Prophylaxis

  • Work through occlusion, excursion, strikes, and the temporomandibular joint
  • Review the Standard of Practice principles for safe, conservative treatment
Final stretch

Integration and practical readiness

  • Practice identifying malocclusions across all domains
  • Rehearse oral examination and charting with a supervising professional

Anatomy and terminology come first because every later domain assumes you can name and locate structures. Mastication and prophylaxis come last because they require you to apply that foundation to decisions about what to do and what to protect. For deeper guidance on structuring your review, read the IAED/C Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and check IAED/C training for how formal coursework fits in. When you are ready to test recall under realistic conditions, use the IAED/C practice tests to find weak domains before you sit the written exam.

Provenance and limits: This article draws on the public IAED certification page, reviewed September 29, 2026, along with its Standard of Practice dated November 2022. No private materials or exam questions were accessed, and no claim is made of a newly revised 2026 weighted blueprint. Confirm all fees, dates, and requirements directly with the IAED.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the IAED/C pass rate?

It is not publicly disclosed. The IAED's certification page describes requirements and the 80% thresholds but does not report how many candidates pass. Any specific percentage you encounter online should be treated as unverified.

What score do I need to pass?

At least 80% on the written examination, which must be passed before the live-horse practical. The practical also requires at least 80%, with two independent examiners combining their scores. See the passing score guide for details.

How many questions are on the written exam?

The written question count, scored versus unscored split, item types, and time limit are not specified in the reviewed public material. Prepare across all six named proficiencies rather than relying on assumed exam length.

Are the six domains weighted on the exam?

No weights are published. Gross Head Anatomy, Tooth Structure, Principals of Mastication, Terminology, Aging, and Dental Prophylaxis are listed as proficiencies candidates are tested on, but the issuer provides no percentage breakdown. See the domains guide.

Can practice questions prepare me for the practical?

Only partly. Written practice builds the knowledge behind the practical, but hands-on competence requires supervised assessment on live horses. Practice questions cannot certify practical skill or authorize treatment beyond applicable veterinary laws.

Whether the credential is worth the investment depends on your career goals, which our ROI analysis and IAED/C jobs overview address in more depth.

Ready to pass your IAED/C exam?

Put this into practice with free IAED/C questions across every exam domain.