- The Short Answer: What the Letters Represent
- A Naming Caveat Worth Knowing
- Who Stands Behind the Credential
- How the Credential Is Earned: Two Stages
- The Six Published Proficiencies
- What the Standard of Practice Tells You
- Eligibility, Fees and Maintenance
- Using the Title Responsibly
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Here, IAED/C refers to Certified Equine Dental Technician, awarded through the International Association of Equine Dentistry (IAED).
- The issuer's current page calls the program "IAED Certification" and does not establish a separately named IAED/C award.
- Candidates must score at least 80% on the written exam, then at least 80% on the live-horse practical.
- Six published proficiencies, from Gross Head Anatomy to Dental Prophylaxis, organize preparation; no weights are published.
The Short Answer: What the Letters Represent
On this site, IAED/C means Certified Equine Dental Technician: the credential connected to the International Association of Equine Dentistry. The "IAED" portion points to the association itself. The "/C" is commonly read as "certified," marking a member who has completed the association's certification process rather than simply holding membership.
That reading is a convention rather than a formally published definition, which is why it helps to separate what is documented from what is shorthand. The documented part is straightforward: the IAED administers a certification program for equine dental practitioners, and passing it involves both a written examination and a hands-on assessment on live horses. For a broader overview of the credential, see What Is IAED/C? and IAED/C Meaning.
A Naming Caveat Worth Knowing
Candidates searching for the exact wording of the award sometimes expect a single, official title that matches the abbreviation letter for letter. The public record is more modest than that. The issuer's current certification page refers to the program as IAED Certification. It does not establish a separately named "IAED/C" award, nor does it announce an official rename.
In practice, "IAED/C" works as a convenient label for the credential, and "Certified Equine Dental Technician" describes what the holder is. Treat both as descriptive shorthand. When you write a résumé, a website bio or a client-facing document, it is wise to mirror the phrasing the IAED itself uses and to verify current award nomenclature directly with the association before printing anything permanent.
For related phrasing questions, these companion pages cover adjacent angles: What Does IAED/C Mean? and IAED/C Certification.
Who Stands Behind the Credential
The certification is issued through the International Association of Equine Dentistry. Both the written and hands-on components are IAED-administered. No commercial testing vendor has been identified, which sets this credential apart from many technician certifications that run through large third-party testing networks. In practical terms, that means:
- Scheduling and logistics come from the association, not a public testing center chain.
- Candidates must hold current IAED membership in good standing to be eligible.
- Details such as written question count, time limits and item formats are not publicly specified, so you should confirm them with the IAED when you apply.
Because the public information is limited, treat any source that claims a precise written-paper blueprint with caution. The issuer publishes a list of tested proficiencies but not a complete weighted blueprint.
How the Credential Is Earned: Two Stages
The structure is the most distinctive feature of this certification. It is not a single sitting. The current issuer page describes a sequence:
- Written examination. Proctored written testing is described. A score of at least 80% is required before moving forward.
- Live-horse practical assessment. Two independent practical examiners evaluate the candidate and combine their scores. The practical also requires at least 80%.
| Feature | Written Stage | Practical Stage |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum score | 80% | 80% |
| Format | Proctored written testing | Live-horse assessment |
| Evaluators | IAED-administered | Two independent examiners, scores combined |
| Public details on item count and time limits | Not published | Not published |
Several rules are unverified in the public record, including whether remote-online delivery, open-book conditions, calculators or adaptive testing apply. Do not assume any of them. Ask the IAED directly. For the score threshold in more depth, read IAED/C Passing Score; for the question of how demanding the process is, see How Hard Is the IAED/C Exam?
The Six Published Proficiencies
The issuer states that certification candidates are tested on a list of proficiencies. This site organizes those into six preparation categories. They are unweighted: the IAED does not publish separate written-paper weights, so the order below is a study organization, not a statement of how many questions each area carries. The issuer's spelling "Principals of Mastication" is preserved here.
Domain 1: Gross Head Anatomy
Covers the identification, location and function of the structures of the equine head.
- Bones and muscles of the skull and jaw
- Arteries, veins and nerves supplying the oral region
- Salivary glands and their placement
Domain 2: Tooth Structure
Equine teeth are hypsodont, meaning they erupt continuously over a long period. Understanding their internal and external makeup underpins every clinical decision.
- Components of the tooth and how they wear
- Why pulp and secondary dentin protection matter
Domain 3: Principals of Mastication
How the horse chews, and how the jaw, teeth and joint cooperate.
- Lateral excursion and the chewing cycle
- How occlusion shapes wear patterns
Domain 4: Terminology
Precise vocabulary for charting, communicating with veterinarians and describing findings.
- Directional and anatomical terms
- Names for abnormalities and variations
Domain 5: Aging
Estimating a horse's age from its dentition, and understanding the limits of that estimate.
- Eruption and wear indicators
- Why individual variation complicates estimates
Domain 6: Dental Prophylaxis
Preventive and maintenance care of the equine mouth.
- Routine examination and preventive procedures
- Candidates must also be able to identify dental malocclusions
These headings organize the current public proficiency list. They are not a newly discovered weighted written blueprint. For a deeper breakdown of how to approach each area, see IAED/C Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.
What the Standard of Practice Tells You
Alongside the proficiency list, the IAED publishes a Standard of Practice, dated November 2022. It is not an exam outline, but it is the best public window into the clinical thinking behind the credential. Reading it carefully gives context that rote memorization of terms cannot. Its themes include:
- Equine hypsodont anatomy, physiology, biomechanics and pathology
- Instrumentation and oral examination
- Charting anatomical variation, malocclusions and abnormal pathology
- Anatomical guideline, pulp and secondary-dentin protection
- Occlusion, lateral excursion to strike, and full or in-occlusion excursion
- The temporomandibular joint and primary and secondary strikes
- Incisors, canines, wolf teeth and cheek teeth
- Pre-assessment, horse welfare and referral
- Safe positioning and equipment
- Minimizing thermal and soft-tissue injury
- Conserving viable dentition, functional occlusion and natural occlusal surfaces
Key Takeaway
The Standard of Practice emphasizes conservation: protecting viable teeth, natural occlusal surfaces and the horse's welfare, with referral when a case exceeds your scope. Expect that philosophy to inform both the written and practical stages.
Eligibility, Fees and Maintenance
Who can apply
Candidate requirements published by the issuer include current IAED membership in good standing, no pending grievance, and completion of a formal equine dental education program of 240 hours. Veterinary graduates need 80 equine-dental hours instead. The current page also describes a recommendation, in the form of a signature from an IAED-certified member. Full details are in IAED/C Requirements, and training pathways are discussed in IAED/C Training.
Fee mechanics
The only fee figures available come from a legacy 2015 standard, so treat them as historical rather than current:
- The written examination was free.
- The practical/certification stage was $750 when registered at least 21 days ahead, otherwise $950.
- Membership was required; a nonmember rate was not established.
Current fees remain unverified, so confirm them with the IAED before budgeting. A fuller discussion lives in IAED/C Certification Cost, and scheduling questions are covered in IAED/C Exam Dates.
Keeping the credential
Maintenance requires current membership plus 24 approved CE hours every two years, with an in-person IAED convention or event required every four years. A fixed expiry date has not been established in the public record. Note that course and CE hours are not examination timers; they measure ongoing education, not test duration.
Using the Title Responsibly
Holding the credential signals tested knowledge and demonstrated hands-on skill, but it does not override the law. Equine dentistry is regulated differently depending on where you work, and in many places certain procedures fall under veterinary practice acts. Written practice questions cannot certify hands-on competence or authorize treatment beyond applicable veterinary laws, and neither can the title itself.
Employment and income depend heavily on local regulation, client base and whether you work independently or alongside veterinary practices. Rather than relying on unsourced figures, explore the qualitative picture in IAED/C Jobs, IAED/C Salary Guide and Is the IAED/C Certification Worth It?
Sequencing Your Preparation
Because the six domains are unweighted, build your plan around how the topics depend on one another. Anatomy and tooth structure come first because later material rests on them. A sample ordering:
Gross Head Anatomy
- Map bones, muscles, vessels, nerves and salivary glands of the equine head
- Start a terminology list as you go
Tooth Structure and Terminology
- Learn hypsodont tooth makeup and pulp protection
- Drill the vocabulary used in charting
Principals of Mastication
- Connect lateral excursion, strikes and the temporomandibular joint to wear patterns
Aging and Dental Prophylaxis
- Practice age estimation and identifying malocclusions
- Review Standard of Practice themes on welfare and referral
This layout is an editorial suggestion, not an official schedule. Pair it with supervised hands-on time, since the practical stage cannot be rehearsed through reading alone. Additional resources include the IAED/C Study Guide and the IAED/C Cheat Sheet, and you can test recall with the practice questions on the main practice test site. Practice-question allocation there is editorial rather than a reflection of official weights, so use it to build fluency, not to predict your score. Visit IAED/C Exam Prep for additional drills.
Frequently Asked Questions
On this site it refers to Certified Equine Dental Technician, a credential tied to the International Association of Equine Dentistry. The issuer itself calls the program IAED Certification.
Not as far as the public record shows. The current issuer page does not establish a separately named IAED/C award or an official rename, so treat the abbreviation as shorthand and verify wording with the IAED.
The issuer requires at least 80% on the written examination and at least 80% on the live-horse practical, where two independent examiners combine their scores. The written question count and time limits are not publicly specified.
Published proficiencies include Gross Head Anatomy, Tooth Structure, Principals of Mastication, Terminology, Aging and Dental Prophylaxis, plus the ability to identify dental malocclusions. No official weights are published.
Maintain IAED membership and complete 24 approved CE hours every two years, including an in-person IAED convention or event every four years. A fixed expiry date has not been established in the public sources reviewed.
For another angle on terminology, the related explainers What Does IAED/C Stand For?, What Is A IAED/C? and What Is IAED/C Certification? cover the same ground from slightly different directions. Public sources for this article were reviewed on September 29, 2026, from the IAED certification page at iaedonline.com/certification; no private materials or exam questions were accessed.